Exemple de feuille de route comportementale

Qu'est-ce qu'un exemple de feuille de route comportementale ?

Une feuille de route produit décrit les étapes qu'une entreprise prévoit de suivre pour atteindre ses objectifs.

Qu'est-ce qu'une feuille de route comportementale ?

Les éléments d'une feuille de route sont liés à chacune des stratégies qu'elle tente d'aborder, répondant ainsi à la question du pourquoi et du comment2.

Avant d'essayer de créer une feuille de route, les propriétaires de produits doivent avoir une bonne connaissance de leurs produits :

  • Objectifs
  • Stratégie de marché
  • Contraintes (temps, argent, énergie, etc.)
  • Propositions de valeur

Les sujets abordés dans une feuille de route varient en fonction du type de produit : par exemple, l'équipe de développement peut se concentrer sur un seul produit, tandis que l'équipe de direction peut se concentrer sur plusieurs. Plus important encore, une feuille de route doit être facilement compréhensible pour toutes les personnes concernées, suffisamment détaillée pour fournir un contexte et suffisamment simple pour être accessible.

La communication est importante lorsqu'il s'agit de décider des priorités ; en fait, une étude récente a révélé que de nombreuses entreprises ont des difficultés à identifier et à mettre en œuvre un système de hiérarchisation qui puisse apporter de la valeur aux parties prenantes et aux clients.4 Heureusement, il existe une variété de techniques de hiérarchisation qui peuvent être classées en "approches basées sur la cartographie", "approches basées sur la notation" et "approches basées sur les jeux "5.

Lorsqu'il s'agit de décider quels éléments atteignent le seuil d'inclusion dans la feuille de route, il existe plusieurs cadres, notamment les OKR, le modèle de notation de Rice et le MoSCoW.3

Les feuilles de route des produits peuvent également être structurées de différentes manières, bien que la plus courante soit un graphique multicouche basé sur le temps, montrant comment les différentes stratégies sont alignées.6 Il n'existe pas de format unique de feuille de route des produits qui conviendrait aux objectifs de chaque produit dans chaque organisation à chaque étape du développement, et il est donc important que les équipes de développement aient des objectifs clairs dès le départ.

Contexte contemporain

Il ne fait aucun doute que la pandémie a modifié notre façon de travailler. Les chefs de produit ne font pas exception : En 2022, 62 % des chefs de produit ont déclaré qu'ils préféraient organiser des réunions et présenter des informations en direct plutôt que virtuellement.7 Selon la même enquête, près d'un cinquième des personnes interrogées ont estimé que leur plus grand défi en matière de gestion des produits était de devoir fixer les priorités de la feuille de route sans disposer d'un retour d'information approprié, en plus de devoir parvenir à l'unanimité sur l'orientation du produit.7

Compte tenu de ces résultats, il est devenu plus difficile pour les chefs de produit de faciliter la création de feuilles de route pour les produits et d'évaluer avec précision le succès de ces feuilles de route.

Voici quelques moyens pour les équipes produit de contourner ces circonstances tumultueuses :

1. Profiter des meilleurs logiciels

En 2021, Gartner a constaté que l'utilisation d'outils de collaboration a augmenté de 44 % depuis 2019, pour un total de 80 % des travailleurs utilisant ces outils.8 En grande partie, l'environnement à distance forcé a contribué à faciliter cette croissance, mais a également exigé que les équipes trouvent les bons outils qui leur conviennent. Au lieu de réunions de brainstorming en personne, testez ce qui fonctionne le mieux pour votre équipe et investissez dans ces outils.

2. Mettre l'accent sur l'établissement de relations à distance

Les chefs de produit sont chargés de recueillir des informations auprès des différents services d'une entreprise, de l'ingénierie à la publicité. On estime que le travail en équipe interfonctionnelle a diminué de 25 % au cours des premiers mois de la pandémie9, ce qui a eu un impact direct sur la qualité du travail effectué par ceux qui, comme les chefs de produit, dépendent de ce type d'interaction.

En s'efforçant de nouer des relations avec leurs pairs, les chefs de produit pourront non seulement élaborer des feuilles de route plus efficaces, mais aussi coordonner de meilleurs résultats pour toutes les parties concernées.

La science du comportement

L'un des avantages des feuilles de route comportementales est qu'elles nous aident à éviter la rationalité limitée, un processus de prise de décision dans lequel nous nous contentons d'un "assez bon" plutôt que du "meilleur".

Nous faisons l'expérience de la rationalité limitée lorsque nous sommes confrontés à des limites cognitives et temporelles, dont certaines surviennent lorsque nous trouvons de nouvelles idées ou de nouveaux processus, ce qui peut entraîner une fatigue cognitive et de la frustration.

En nous permettant de rester organisés, motivés et sur la bonne voie, les feuilles de route des produits nous aident à éviter le piège de la rationalité limitée, qui contribue souvent à des décisions médiocres et à un manque de cohérence par rapport à nos objectifs.

Étude de cas

The Decision Lab a fait équipe avec Chronwell, un fournisseur américain de technologies de santé, pour développer un cadre comportemental pour leur nouvel outil, Livvy, qui aide les personnes atteintes de la maladie du foie gras non alcoolique (NAFLD) à mieux gérer leur état. Chronwell souhaitait que The Decision Lab utilise la science du comportement pour informer l'orientation du produit et améliorer ses wireframes actuels.

Pour atteindre cet objectif, nous avons envoyé une enquête à près de 800 personnes atteintes de NAFLD, identifié 8 obstacles prioritaires auxquels Livvy pourrait s'attaquer et développé un cadre comportemental pour relier chaque obstacle à des solutions fondées sur des données probantes. Nous avons ensuite ajouté ces stratégies de solution à la feuille de route du produit, aidant ainsi Chronwell à améliorer son produit.

Le Decision Lab est un cabinet de conseil comportemental qui utilise la science de la décision pour réaliser le bien social. En tirant parti de la puissance des connaissances comportementales, The Decision Lab met en lumière les besoins des consommateurs et améliore leur expérience avec les marques responsables. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur notre travail, contactez-nous.

Sources d'information

  1. Münch, J., Trieflinger, S., & Lang, D. (2019). La feuille de route du produit - de la vision à la réalité : A Systematic Literature Review. 2019 IEEE International Conference on Engineering, Technology and Innovation (ICE/ITMC), 1-8. https://doi.org/10.1109/ICE.2019.8792654
  2. Davies, B. (n.d.). Product Roadmaps. Atlassian. Consulté le 12 septembre 2022, à l'adresse suivante : https://www.atlassian.com/agile/product-management/product-roadmaps
  3. Semick, J. (n.d.). The Ultimate Guide to Product Roadmaps. Consulté le 12 septembre 2022 sur le site https://www.productplan.com/learn/what-is-a-product-roadmap/
  4. Münch, J., Trieflinger, S. et Lang, D. (2019). Qu'est-ce qui est à la mode dans la cartographie routière des produits ? Pratiques clés et facteurs de réussite. Dans X. Franch, T. Männistö, & S. Martínez-Fernández (Eds.), Product-Focused Software Process Improvement (pp. 401-416). Springer International Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-35333-9_29
  5. Trieflinger, S., Münch, J., Bogazköy, E., Eißler, P., Schneider, J. et Roling, B. (2021). How to Prioritize Your Product Roadmap When Everything Feels Important : A Grey Literature Review (Comment prioriser votre feuille de route produit lorsque tout semble important : une analyse de la littérature grise). 2021 IEEE International Conference on Engineering, Technology and Innovation (ICE/ITMC), 1-9. https://doi.org/10.1109/ICE/ITMC52061.2021.9570243
  6. Phaal, R., Farrukh, C. J. P. et Probert, D. R. (2005). Developing a technology roadmapping system. A Unifying Discipline for Melting the Boundaries Technology Management :, 99-111. https://doi.org/10.1109/PICMET.2005.1509680
  7. Rapport 2022 sur l'état de la gestion des produits. (2022). Plan produit.
  8. L'enquête de Gartner révèle une augmentation de 44 % de l'utilisation des outils de collaboration par les travailleurs depuis 2019. (2021, 25 août). Gartner. https://www.gartner.com/en/newsroom/press-releases/2021-08-23-gartner-survey-reveals-44-percent-rise-in-workers-use-of-collaboration-tools-since-2019
  9. Yang, L., Holtz, D., Jaffe, S., Suri, S., Sinha, S., Weston, J., Joyce, C., Shah, N., Sherman, K., Hecht, B. et Teevan, J. (2022). The effects of remote work on collaboration among information workers. Nature Human Behaviour, 6(1), Article 1. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41562-021-01196-4
Notes illustration

Vous souhaitez savoir comment les sciences du comportement peuvent aider votre organisation ?

Behavioral Product Roadmap Example

What is a Behavioral Product Roadmap Example?

A product roadmap describes the steps that a business plans to take to meet business objectives.

What is a Behavioral Product Roadmap?

A product roadmap describes the steps that a business plans to take to meet business objectives.1 Items in a product roadmap are linked back to each of the strategies it attempts to address, thus answering the question of why in addition to how.

Before attempting to create a roadmap, product owners must have a grasp of their:

  • Goals
  • Market strategy
  • Constraints (e.g. time, money, energy, etc.)
  • Value propositions

The topics covered in a roadmap will vary depending on the type of product: for example, the development team may only focus on one product, while the executive team may focus on multiple. Most importantly, a roadmap must be easily understood for everyone involved, detailed enough to provide context and simple enough to be approachable. 

Communication is important when deciding on priorities; in fact, a recent study revealed that many companies are having difficulty identifying and implementing a prioritization system that can deliver value to stakeholders and customers.4 Fortunately, there are a variety of prioritization techniques available which can be categorized as “mapping-based approaches,” “scoring-based approaches”, and “game-based approaches.”5

When it comes to deciding which items meet the threshold for inclusion on the roadmap, there are various frameworks, including OKRs, the Rice Scoring Model, and MoSCoW.3 

Product roadmaps can also be structured in a few different ways, although the most common is a multi-layered time-based chart, showing how different strategies are aligned.6 There is no singular product roadmap format that will suit the goals of every product in every organization at every stage in development, and as such, it’s important for development teams to have clear goals from the onset. 

Theory, meet practice

TDL is an applied research consultancy. In our work, we leverage the insights of diverse fields—from psychology and economics to machine learning and behavioral data science—to sculpt targeted solutions to nuanced problems.

Our consulting services

Contemporary Context

There’s no doubt that the pandemic changed the way we work. Product managers are no exception: In 2022, 62% of product managers shared that they preferred hosting meetings and presenting information live compared to virtually.7 According to the same investigation, nearly one fifth of respondents felt that their biggest product management challenge was having to set roadmap priorities without proper feedback, in addition to reaching unanimity on product direction.7

With these findings in mind, it has become more difficult for product managers to facilitate product roadmap creation and to accurately gauge the success of these roadmaps. 

Here are a few ways that product teams can circumnavigate these tumultuous circumstances:

1. Take advantage of the best software

In 2021, Gartner found that the use of collaboration tools grew by 44% since 2019, for a total of 80% of workers using these tools.8 In large part, the forced remote environment helped facilitate this growth, but also required that teams find the right tools that work for them. In lieu of in-person brainstorming meetings, test out what works best for your team and invest in them.

2. Emphasize building remote relationships

Product managers are responsible for gathering information from various departments in a company, from engineering to advertising. There was an estimated 25% reduction in cross-functional teamwork during the first few months of the pandemic,9 a reduction that directly impacted the quality of work done by those like product managers who rely on this type of interaction.

In being intentional about building relationships with peers, product managers will be able to not only build more effective product roadmaps, but also coordinate better outcomes for everyone involved.

The Behavioral Science

One of the benefits of behavioral product roadmaps is that they help us avoid bounded rationality, a decision-making process in which we settle for “good enough,” rather than “the best.” 

We experience bounded rationality when we’re faced with cognitive and temporal limitations, some of which arise when we’re coming up with new ideas or processes which can lead to cognitive fatigue and frustration. 

By keeping us organized, motivated, and on track, product roadmaps help us avoid the trap of bounded rationality, which often contributes to subpar decisions and inconsistency with our goals.

Case Study

The Decision Lab teamed up with Chronwell, an American provider of healthcare technology, to develop a behavioral framework for their new tool, Livvy, which helps people with Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD) better manage their condition. Chronwell wanted The Decision Lab to use behavioral science to inform product direction and improve their current wireframes.

To accomplish this goal, we sent out a survey to nearly 800 individuals with NAFLD, identified 8 priority barriers which Livvy could address, and developed a behavioral framework to connect each barrier to evidence-based solutions. We then added these solution strategies to the product roadmap, ultimately helping Chronwell improve their product.

The Decision Lab is a behavioral consultancy, using decision science to achieve social good. Through leveraging the power of behavioral insights, The Decision Lab shines a light on what consumers need and improving their experience with responsible brands. If you’re interested in learning more about our work, contact us.

Sources

  1. Münch, J., Trieflinger, S., & Lang, D. (2019). Product Roadmap – From Vision to Reality: A Systematic Literature Review. 2019 IEEE International Conference on Engineering, Technology and Innovation (ICE/ITMC), 1–8. https://doi.org/10.1109/ICE.2019.8792654
  2. Davies, B. (n.d.). Product Roadmaps. Atlassian. Retrieved September 12, 2022, from https://www.atlassian.com/agile/product-management/product-roadmaps
  3. Semick, J. (n.d.). The Ultimate Guide to Product Roadmaps. Retrieved September 12, 2022, from https://www.productplan.com/learn/what-is-a-product-roadmap/
  4. Münch, J., Trieflinger, S., & Lang, D. (2019). What’s Hot in Product Roadmapping? Key Practices and Success Factors. In X. Franch, T. Männistö, & S. Martínez-Fernández (Eds.), Product-Focused Software Process Improvement (pp. 401–416). Springer International Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-35333-9_29
  5. Trieflinger, S., Münch, J., Bogazköy, E., Eißler, P., Schneider, J., & Roling, B. (2021). How to Prioritize Your Product Roadmap When Everything Feels Important: A Grey Literature Review. 2021 IEEE International Conference on Engineering, Technology and Innovation (ICE/ITMC), 1–9. https://doi.org/10.1109/ICE/ITMC52061.2021.9570243
  6. Phaal, R., Farrukh, C. J. P., & Probert, D. R. (2005). Developing a technology roadmapping system. A Unifying Discipline for Melting the Boundaries Technology Management:, 99–111. https://doi.org/10.1109/PICMET.2005.1509680
  7. The 2022 State of Product Management Report. (2022). Product Plan.
  8. Gartner Survey Reveals a 44% Rise in Workers’ Use of Collaboration Tools Since 2019. (2021, August 25). Gartner. https://www.gartner.com/en/newsroom/press-releases/2021-08-23-gartner-survey-reveals-44-percent-rise-in-workers-use-of-collaboration-tools-since-2019
  9. Yang, L., Holtz, D., Jaffe, S., Suri, S., Sinha, S., Weston, J., Joyce, C., Shah, N., Sherman, K., Hecht, B., & Teevan, J. (2022). The effects of remote work on collaboration among information workers. Nature Human Behaviour, 6(1), Article 1. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41562-021-01196-4

About the Authors

Dan Pilat's portrait

Dan Pilat

Dan is a Co-Founder and Managing Director at The Decision Lab. He is a bestselling author of Intention - a book he wrote with Wiley on the mindful application of behavioral science in organizations. Dan has a background in organizational decision making, with a BComm in Decision & Information Systems from McGill University. He has worked on enterprise-level behavioral architecture at TD Securities and BMO Capital Markets, where he advised management on the implementation of systems processing billions of dollars per week. Driven by an appetite for the latest in technology, Dan created a course on business intelligence and lectured at McGill University, and has applied behavioral science to topics such as augmented and virtual reality.

Sekoul Krastev's portrait

Dr. Sekoul Krastev

Sekoul is a Co-Founder and Managing Director at The Decision Lab. He is a bestselling author of Intention - a book he wrote with Wiley on the mindful application of behavioral science in organizations. A decision scientist with a PhD in Decision Neuroscience from McGill University, Sekoul's work has been featured in peer-reviewed journals and has been presented at conferences around the world. Sekoul previously advised management on innovation and engagement strategy at The Boston Consulting Group as well as on online media strategy at Google. He has a deep interest in the applications of behavioral science to new technology and has published on these topics in places such as the Huffington Post and Strategy & Business.

Read Next

Notes illustration

Eager to learn about how behavioral science can help your organization?