Bluffer

L'idée de base

En grandissant, nous apprenons tous que le mensonge est une mauvaise chose. Pourtant, la plupart d'entre nous sont confrontés quotidiennement au mensonge. Qu'il s'agisse d'un petit mensonge inoffensif, comme de dire qu'on n'a pas mangé le dernier biscuit (alors que c'est manifestement le cas), ou d'un mensonge plus grave, comme le non-respect des règles d'intégrité académique, nous avons probablement tous été un jour ou l'autre le menteur ou la personne à qui l'on a menti.

Considérons maintenant la situation suivante : lors d'une partie de poker, vous faites une mise importante tout en sachant que vous avez une mauvaise main de cartes. Vous n'avez pas prétendu avoir de bonnes cartes, mais vos actions le suggèrent. Est-ce considéré comme un mensonge ?

Si l'on interroge les économistes, les théoriciens des jeux et les joueurs de poker, ils préfèrent parler de bluff. Le bluff est généralement considéré comme une manœuvre stratégique au cours de laquelle une personne en trompe une autre sur ses intentions ou ses connaissances.1 Essentiellement, le bluff peut être considéré comme un "mensonge stratégique". De manière anecdotique, vous pouvez faire semblant d'avoir une bonne main de cartes, alors qu'en réalité vous avez deux 2 et deux 7. Bien que le bluff soit un jeu spécifique au poker, il fait également référence à l'étude d'un modèle plus général de comportement humain.

Un bluff pris au sérieux est plus utile qu'une menace sérieuse interprétée comme un bluff.


- Henry Kissinger, ancien secrétaire d'État et conseiller à la sécurité nationale des États-Unis

L'histoire

L'histoire du bluff ne peut être racontée sans explorer la théorie des jeux et ses débuts. Le mathématicien John von Neumann a été l'un des premiers à examiner le jeu de poker sous un angle mathématique.2 Von Neumann s'est intéressé au poker parce qu'il pensait que la compréhension du jeu permettrait de développer une forme unique de mathématiques. Il souhaitait élaborer une théorie générale qui pourrait être appliquée à la stratégie commerciale, à la diplomatie et à l'évolution, entre autres.

Les travaux de Von Neumann ont débouché sur ce que l'on appelle aujourd'hui la théorie des jeux, c'est-à-dire l'étude des modèles mathématiques de prise de décision stratégique et rationnelle.3 Il a recherché différents théorèmes mathématiques économiques et les a intégrés dans son article de 1928 intitulé On the Theory of Parlor Games.4 Von Neumann a ensuite travaillé avec l'économiste Oskar Morgenstern pour publier Theory of Games and Economic Behavior en 1944, le texte révolutionnaire qui a donné naissance au domaine de la théorie des jeux.2

L'une des découvertes les plus importantes de Von Neumann est son célèbre théorème minimax, qui vise à minimiser la perte maximale possible d'un joueur.3 Von Neumann pensait que ce théorème existait dans tous les jeux à deux joueurs répondant aux critères suivants :

  1. Le jeu est fini, de sorte que le nombre d'options à chaque coup est fini et que le jeu se termine toujours en un nombre fini de coups.
  2. Le jeu est à somme nulle, c'est-à-dire que le gain d'un joueur est égal à la perte de l'autre.
  3. Le jeu est à information complète, de sorte que chaque joueur connaît toutes les options qui s'offrent à lui et à son adversaire, y compris la valeur de chaque résultat possible.

Lorsque la théorie des jeux a été présentée pour la première fois au monde, elle a émerveillé le grand public.2 Pour les universitaires, elle promettait une base originale et rigoureuse pour les sciences sociales modernes, et plus particulièrement pour l'économie. Les années 1950 ont vu la conceptualisation du dilemme du prisonnier, un exemple qui montre pourquoi deux individus totalement rationnels peuvent ne pas coopérer l'un avec l'autre, même s'il est dans leur intérêt de le faire.5 Au même moment, le mathématicien John Forbes Nash Jr. a développé le concept d'équilibre de Nash, qui a étendu la théorie des jeux au-delà des jeux à somme nulle à deux personnes de Von Neumann et Morgenstern.6 Comme d'autres concepts liés à la théorie des jeux ont été développés dans les années 1950, la théorie des jeux a commencé à être appliquée à la philosophie et à la politique.

Pour mieux comprendre l'intérêt de la théorie des jeux, analysons l'incident suivant. En 1984, la ville de Chicago a interdit au propriétaire d'un bar d'installer des machines de poker et de blackjack informatisées dans son établissement, sous prétexte que ces jeux reposaient sur la chance plutôt que sur l'habileté7 . Kalai a démontré que les machines étaient des jeux qui nécessitaient de la stratégie et du bluff, convainquant le juge que les jeux nécessitaient effectivement un certain niveau d'habileté. Après la démonstration de Kalai au juge, il a été jugé légal pour le propriétaire du bar d'installer les machines.

Les personnes

John von Neumann

Le mathématicien américain d'origine hongroise John von Neumann était l'un des plus grands mathématiciens du monde à la mi-vingtaine.8 Ses travaux en mathématiques appliquées ont influencé la théorie quantique, l'économie et la planification de la défense. Bien que connu pour avoir été le pionnier de la théorie des jeux, Von Neumann était également professeur de théorie quantique à l'université de Princeton et l'un des inventeurs de l'ordinateur numérique, avec Alan Turing.

Conséquences

Le bluff est généralement abordé dans le contexte du poker en raison de la nature analytique de ce jeu de cartes : il implique le calcul ou l'estimation des probabilités, l'utilisation du gain escompté comme critère de décision et l'utilisation de stratégies mixtes dans les situations de bluff.1 Les interactions commerciales constituent la deuxième situation la plus courante dans laquelle le bluff est pratiqué.9

Cependant, le bluff ne se limite pas aux jeux de cartes et aux affaires. Les cours de théorie des jeux sont très prisés dans les universités, qu'ils soient proposés par les départements d'informatique10 , d'économie11 , de mathématiques12 ou de psychologie13 : Kalai, le témoin expert dans l'affaire de 1984 mentionnée ci-dessus, a également utilisé l'économie comportementale pour aider les Bears de Chicago, une équipe de football professionnelle.7 Comme au poker, Kalai a souligné que les équipes ne veulent pas être connues pour jouer certains coups dans certaines situations. Comme au poker, Kalai a souligné que les équipes ne voulaient pas être connues pour jouer certains coups dans certaines situations. Il a suggéré que si une situation exigeait normalement de courir le ballon, l'équipe devrait occasionnellement le passer pour tenir l'équipe adverse en haleine.

Le conseil de Kalai aux Chicago Bears est un exemple de ce que les théoriciens des jeux appellent la stratégie mixte, une procédure pour les jeux à deux personnes et à somme nulle.7 La stratégie mixte repose sur l'hypothèse que les adversaires peuvent penser tout aussi stratégiquement que son propre camp : randomiser les mouvements de football et augmenter l'imprévisibilité diminuera les chances que l'équipe adverse anticipe et bloque une stratégie. Les stratégies de bluff sont donc soutenues et systématiques, garantissant juste assez d'aléatoire pour que les bluffs restent efficaces.

Controverses

Bien que la théorie des jeux soit impressionnante, il est important de se rappeler ses limites.7 Tout d'abord, il a été démontré que les gens ont une plus grande aversion pour le risque dans les situations de forte pression, diminuant leur volonté de bluffer de peur que cela ne leur retombe dessus. Dans les cas de guerre et de politique, la randomisation est particulièrement difficile. Par exemple, pendant la guerre des six jours en 1967, l'armée israélienne a été confrontée à un défi : elle savait que certains convois égyptiens utilisaient des symboles israéliens sur les toits des camions. Les pilotes israéliens ne pouvaient donc pas déterminer la véritable identité des convois et risquaient de nuire à leur propre armée s'ils choisissaient de bombarder au hasard.

L'éthique du bluff - en particulier dans la conduite des affaires - a également fait l'objet de débats, comme dans cet article du magazine économique Forbes. Si le bluff est une pratique acceptable dans le monde du poker, certains estiment que les interactions dans le monde réel devraient être soumises à des normes éthiques plus strictes, y compris les transactions commerciales.14 D'autres pensent que les affaires sont un jeu, tout comme le poker, dans lequel les normes éthiques "normales" ne s'appliquent pas.15 Cependant, des inquiétudes subsistent quant à l'ampleur du recours au bluff dans le monde de l'entreprise.

Étude de cas

Bluff et négociations

Dans les relations entre acheteurs et fournisseurs, une collaboration fructueuse exige de l'engagement et de la confiance, deux éléments qui peuvent être affectés par le bluff.16 Pourtant, le bluff reste une pratique courante qui peut mettre à mal les relations entre acheteurs et fournisseurs. L'un des principaux modes d'interaction entre acheteurs et fournisseurs étant la négociation, un groupe de chercheurs en gestion a voulu évaluer le bluff dans les négociations entre acheteurs et fournisseurs. Plus précisément, ils ont pris en compte la théorie du désengagement moral, qui prévoit que les décideurs adhèrent à leurs normes morales tant que leurs auto-sanctions sont plus fortes que les incitations externes.

Les bluffs ont été définis comme des tromperies acceptables pour les deux parties pendant la négociation, tandis que les mensonges ont été définis comme des tromperies inacceptables pour les deux parties.16 Les résultats des chercheurs ont distingué les bluffs et les mensonges dans les négociations comme deux concepts distincts. Les menteurs explicites présentaient des niveaux accrus de désengagement moral, alors qu'il n'y avait pas de différence entre les bluffeurs et les négociateurs honnêtes en ce qui concerne les niveaux de désengagement moral. Du côté des destinataires, les cibles des bluffs ressentent une plus grande colère dirigée contre eux-mêmes pour être tombés dans le piège du bluff, mais ils sont prêts à s'engager dans de nouvelles négociations. En revanche, les victimes de mensonges ressentent une plus grande colère à l'égard du menteur et ne sont pas très disposées à poursuivre les négociations.

Compte tenu de la prévalence du bluff dans les transactions commerciales, les résultats de cette étude soulignent l'importance de la stratégie et de la pensée critique.16 Lorsqu'ils tentent de bluffer dans une négociation, les acteurs doivent s'assurer que leur bluff sera effectivement perçu comme un bluff - plutôt que comme un mensonge - s'ils sont démasqués. Les cadres doivent se familiariser avec les méthodes de désengagement moral qui permettent de justifier des styles de négociation de plus en plus agressifs ou d'en nier les conséquences.

Le dilemme du prisonnier et l'identité sociale

Le dilemme du prisonnier est sans doute l'exemple le plus connu de la théorie des jeux. L'exemple consiste à interroger séparément deux "prisonniers" et à les informer des conséquences suivantes:17

  • Si ni le prisonnier A ni le prisonnier B n'avoue, ils seront tous deux condamnés à six mois de prison ;
  • Si un prisonnier avoue et que l'autre n'avoue pas, le prisonnier qui a avoué sera condamné à dix ans de prison tandis que l'autre sera libéré ; ou,
  • Si les deux prisonniers avouent, chacun d'entre eux sera condamné à huit ans de prison.

Depuis son origine en 1950, le dilemme du prisonnier a été adapté dans la recherche pour aborder des questions telles que la coopération, l'altruisme et la prise de décision, entre autres.18 Selon la théorie des jeux, les "prisonniers" sont confrontés à un dilemme dans lequel avouer est la stratégie rationnelle pour éviter d'être trahi et de recevoir en fin de compte la peine maximale. Pourtant, dans les expériences comme dans les situations réelles, de nombreuses personnes finissent par coopérer.

En fait, la plupart des recherches sur le dilemme du prisonnier ont montré que le fait de permettre aux prisonniers de communiquer entre eux augmente considérablement la coopération.18 Pour tirer parti de cette situation, un groupe de chercheurs américains a voulu explorer le rôle que l'identité sociale et les normes jouent dans la coopération. Ils ont réparti 86 étudiants de premier cycle en quatre groupes, en fonction de l'autre "prisonnier" auquel ils étaient confrontés.

Dans le premier groupe, le "prisonnier" potentiellement coopératif était une autre personne.18 Pour les trois autres groupes, les participants étaient confrontés à trois types d'ordinateurs dont les caractéristiques étaient plus ou moins proches de celles de l'être humain. L'ordinateur "le plus humain" affichait l'image d'une personne à l'écran et communiquait avec les participants par le biais d'une voix off. L'ordinateur "de type humain" communiquait avec les participants par le biais d'une voix off mais n'affichait pas d'image à l'écran, tandis que l'ordinateur "le moins humain" communiquait avec les participants en affichant du texte à l'écran.

L'objectif était d'évaluer si la communication avec un partenaire informatique modifierait les sentiments des participants et les normes qui influencent les choix de coopération.18 Les chercheurs ont constaté que la coopération avec un dilemme informatique était deux fois moins fréquente qu'avec une personne, et que les taux de coopération étaient nettement plus élevés lorsque l'ordinateur était programmé pour ressembler au participant. Par exemple, certains ordinateurs utilisaient la langue maternelle du participant. De manière surprenante, les participants étaient plus susceptibles de ne pas tenir leur promesse de coopérer avec un ordinateur, en particulier lorsque l'ordinateur ressemblait davantage à un être humain.

Ces résultats confirment le rôle de l'identité sociale dans la coopération : les participants ont pu ressentir une identité de groupe avec les ordinateurs de type humain, mais ils ne les aimaient pas pour leurs imperfections et en ont donc profité.18 Cela peut refléter la dévalorisation au sein du groupe des membres marginaux (dans ce cas, l'ordinateur perçu comme inférieur) en cas de concurrence. Dans l'ensemble, les résultats montrent que la communication est importante pour la coopération dans la mesure où celle-ci dépend de la perception de l'identité du groupe. Les êtres humains ne sont peut-être pas aussi rationnels que le voudrait la théorie des jeux : si nous étions vraiment rationnels, des facteurs tels que les normes et l'identité sociale n'influenceraient pas nos décisions.

Contenu connexe de TDL

L'IA et l'avenir de la détection de mensonges

Nous avons étudié la manière dont certains théoriciens font la distinction entre le bluff et le mensonge. Les théoriciens du jeu s'accordent à dire que le bluff est une forme de tromperie. Le mensonge est lui aussi une forme de tromperie. Que se passerait-il si l'IA pouvait aider à détecter les mensonges ? Cela s'étendrait-il au bluff ? Jetez un coup d'œil à cet article et décidez par vous-même.

La théorie des jeux peut expliquer pourquoi vous devriez porter un masque

Nous avons évoqué la façon dont le dilemme du prisonnier a été adapté pour prendre en compte une variété de situations, et au milieu de la pandémie de COVID-19, il a également été utilisé pour expliquer la décision rationnelle de porter un masque de protection ! Si vous êtes curieux de connaître cette application, cet article vous offre des informations concrètes.

Sources d'information

  1. Friedman, L. (1971). Optimal bluffing strategies in poker. Management Science, 17(12), B764-B771.
  2. Harford, T. (2006, 14 décembre). Une belle théorie. https://www.forbes.com/2006/12/10/business-game-theory-tech-cx_th_games06_1212harford.html?sh=78014e6f5e94
  3. Méro, L. (1998). La théorie des jeux de John von Nuemann. Dans Moral Calculations.
  4. Von Neumann, J. (1928). Théorie des jeux de société. Mathematische Annalen, 100, 295-320.
  5. Kuhn, S. (2019, 2 avril). Dilemme du prisonnier. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. https://plato.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/encyclopedia/archinfo.cgi?entry=prisoner-dilemma
  6. Osborne, M. K. et Rubinstein, A. (1994). Un cours de théorie des jeux. Cambridge.
  7. Calvert, D. (2015, 2 mars). Bluffer ou ne pas bluffer. Kellogg Insight. https://insight.kellogg.northwestern.edu/article/to-bluff-or-not-to-bluff
  8. Poundstone, W. (2021, 4 février). John von Neumann. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/biography/John-von-Neumann/Princeton-1930-42
  9. Guidice, R. M., Alder, G. S. et Phelan, S. E. (2009). Competitive bluffing : An examination of a common practice and its relationship with performance. Journal of Business Ethics, 87(4), 535-553.
  10. CSC304H1 : Théorie algorithmique des jeux et conception de mécanismes. (2021). Université de Toronto. https://artsci.calendar.utoronto.ca/course/csc304h1
  11. ECON 212 : Introduction à la théorie des jeux. (n.d.). Université de Waterloo. https://my.cel.uwaterloo.ca/p/form/courses/search/course/sub/ECON/cat/212/topic/0
  12. Mathématiques 3157A/B : Introduction à la théorie des jeux. (2021). Université de l'Ouest. https://www.westerncalendar.uwo.ca/Courses.cfm?CourseAcadCalendarID=MAIN_024184_1&SelectedCalendar=Live&ArchiveID=
  13. Approches expérimentales de la prise de décision sociale et stratégique. (2021). Université Queen's. https://www.queensu.ca/psychology/sites/webpublish.queensu.ca.psycwww/files/files/Undergraduate/Course%20Syllabi/2020-2021/Winter/PSYC_398_Winter_2021.pdf
  14. Friedman, M. (1970, 13 septembre). A Friedman doctrine -- The social responsibility of business is to increase its profits. New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/1970/09/13/archives/a-friedman-doctrine-the-social-responsibility-of-business-is-to.html
  15. Carr, A. Z. (1968, janvier). Is business bluffing ethical ? Harvard Business Review. https://hbr.org/1968/01/is-business-bluffing-ethical
  16. Kaufmann, L., Rottenburger, J., Carter, C. R. et Schlereth, C. (2017). Bluffs, mensonges et conséquences : Une reconceptualisation du bluff dans les négociations acheteur-fournisseur. Journal of Supply Chain Management, 54(2), 49-70.
  17. Lave, L. B. (1962). An empirical approach to the prisoners' dilemma game. The Quarterly Journal of Economics, 76(3), 424-436.
  18. Kiesler, S., Sproull, L. et Waters, K. (1996). A prisoner's dilemma experiment on cooperation with people and human-like computers. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 70(1), 47-65.
Notes illustration

Vous souhaitez savoir comment les sciences du comportement peuvent aider votre organisation ?

Bluffing

The Basic Idea

Growing up, we’re all taught that lying is bad. Yet, most of us encounter lying on a daily basis. Whether it’s a small and harmless lie like saying we didn’t eat the last cookie (when we obviously did), or a more significant lie like breaching academic integrity policies, we’ve probably all been the liar and the person who was lied to at one point or another.

Now, consider this situation: while playing a game of poker, you make a large bet despite knowing that you have a poor hand of cards. You didn’t outright claim to have good cards, but your actions suggest it. Is this considered lying?

If you ask economists, game theorists, and poker players, they prefer to call this bluffing. Bluffing is commonly referred to as a strategic move, during which someone deceives another person about their intentions or knowledge.1 Essentially, bluffing can be thought of as “strategic lying.” Anecdotally, you may act like you have a good hand of cards, when you really have two 2’s and two 7’s. Although bluffing is a specific play in poker, it also refers to studying a more general pattern in human behavior.

A bluff taken seriously is more useful than a serious threat interpreted as a bluff.

– Henry Kissinger, former United States Secretary of State and National Security Advisor

History

The history of bluffing could not be told without exploring game theory and its beginnings. Mathematician John von Neumann was one of the first to examine the game of poker through a mathematical lens.2 Von Neumann was interested in poker because he thought that figuring out the game would be a path toward developing a unique form of math. He wanted to form a general theory that could be applied to business strategy, diplomacy, and evolution, among other things.

Von Neumann’s work became what is now known as game theory, the study of mathematical models of strategic and rational decision making.3 He researched different mathematical economic theorems and integrated them in his 1928 paper On the Theory of Parlor Games.4 Von Neumann then worked with economist Oskar Morgenstern to publish Theory of Games and Economic Behavior in 1944, the groundbreaking text that created the field of game theory.2

One of the most important of Von Neumann’s findings is his famous minimax theorem, which aims to minimize one’s maximum possible loss.3 Von Neumann believed this existed in every two-player game with the following criteria:

  1. The game is finite, such that the number of options at each move is finite and the game always ends in a finite number of moves.
  2. The game is zero-sum, such that one player’s gain is equal to the other’s loss.
  3. The game is of complete information, such that each player knows all the options available to them and their opponent, including the value of each possible outcome.

When game theory was first introduced to the world, it amazed the general public.2 For academics, it promised an original and rigorous foundation for modern social science, most notably for economics. The 1950s saw the conceptualization of the prisoner’s dilemma, an example that showed why two completely rational individuals might not cooperate with each other, even though it is in their best interest to do so.5 Among the same time, mathematician John Forbes Nash Jr. developed the concept of a Nash Equilibrium, which extended game theory beyond Von Neumann and Morgenstern’s two-person, zero-sum games.6 As more concepts related to game theory were developed in the 1950s, game theory started being applied to philosophy and politics.

To better understand game theory’s relevance, let’s analyze the following incident. In 1984, the city of Chicago forbade a bar owner from setting up computerized poker and blackjack machines in the bar, claiming that the games relied on luck, rather than skill.7 The bar owner sued the city, and managerial economist Ehud Kalai testified as an expert witness on the owner’s behalf. Kalai showed that the machines were games that required strategy and bluffing, convincing the judge that the games indeed required a certain level of skill. After Kalai’s demonstration to the judge, it was deemed legal for the bar owner to set up the machines.

People

  

John von Neumann

Hungarian-American mathematician John von Neumann was one of the world’s foremost mathematicians by his mid-twenties.8 His work in applied mathematics has influenced quantum theory, economics, and defense planning. Although well-known for pioneering game theory, Von Neumann was also a lecturer of quantum theory at Princeton University and one of the inventors of the digital computer, along with Alan Turing.

Consequences

Bluffing is commonly discussed in the context of poker due to the card game’s analytical nature: it involves calculating or estimating probabilities, using expected gain as a decision criterion and using mixed strategies in bluffing situations.1 The second most common situations in which bluffing will occur are business interactions.9

However, bluffing extends beyond card games and business. Game theory courses are popular offerings at universities, whether offered by the computing,10 economics,11 math,12 or psychology departments.13 Bluffing has even been applied to sports: Kalai, the expert witness in the 1984 case mentioned above, has also used behavioral economics to help the Chicago Bears, a professional football team.7 Similar to poker, Kalai pointed out that teams do not want to be known for playing certain moves in certain situations. He suggested that if a situation would typically call for running the ball, the team should occasionally pass it to keep the opposing team on their toes.

Kalai’s advice to the Chicago Bears is an example of what game theorists call mixed strategy, a procedure for two-person, zero-sum games.7 Mixed strategy is based on the assumption that opponents can think just as strategically as one’s own side: randomizing football moves and increasing unpredictability will decrease the chances of the opposing team anticipating and blocking a strategy. Bluffing strategies, then, are sustained and systematic, ensuring just enough randomization to keep bluffs effective.

Controversies

While game theory is impressive, it’s important to remember its limitations.7 For starters, people have been shown to be more risk-averse under high pressure situations, decreasing their willingness to bluff in fear that it will fall back on them. In cases of warfare and politics, randomization is especially tough. For example, during the 1967 Six-Day War, the Israeli military was faced with a challenge: they knew that some Egyptian convoys were using Israeli symbols on the roofs of trucks. This meant that Israeli pilots could not tell the true identities of the convoys and risked harming their own military if they chose to bomb at random.

The ethics of bluffing – especially as it pertains to conducting business – has also been debated, such as in this article by business magazine Forbes. While bluffing is an acceptable practice in the poker world, some hold that interactions in the real world should be held to higher ethical standards, including business transactions.14 Others believe that business is a game, just like poker, in which “normal” ethical standards do not apply.15 However, there are still concerns surrounding the extent to which bluffing is used by those in the corporate world.

Case Study

Bluffing and negotiations

For buyer-supplier relationships in business, successful collaboration requires commitment and trust, both of which can be negatively impacted by bluffing.16 Yet, bluffing is still a common practice which can strain buyer-supplier relationships. One of the key ways that buyers and suppliers interact is through negotiations, so a group of management researchers wanted to assess bluffing in buyer-supplier negotiations. Specifically, they considered moral disengagement theory, which predicts that decision makers adhere to their moral standards as long as their self-sanctions are stronger than external incentives.

Bluffs were defined as deceptions that are acceptable to both parties during negotiation, while lies were defined as deceptions that are unacceptable to both parties.16 The researchers’ results distinguished bluffs and lies in negotiations as two separate constructs. Explicit liars had increased levels of moral disengagement while there was no difference in levels of moral disengagement between bluffers and honest negotiators. On the receiving end, the targets of bluffs experienced higher degrees of self-directed anger for falling for the bluff, but were willing to engage in further negotiations. On the other hand, the targets of lies experienced higher degrees of anger directed at the liar and were not very willing to continue negotiations.

Considering the prevalence of bluffing in business transactions, this study’s findings emphasize the importance of strategy and critical thinking.16 When attempting to bluff in a negotiation, actors must ensure that their bluff will indeed be perceived as a bluff – rather than a lie – if they are found out. For those in managerial positions, they should familiarize themselves with moral disengagement methods that can justify increasingly aggressive negotiation styles or deny its consequences.

The prisoner’s dilemma and social identity

The prisoner’s dilemma is undoubtedly the best known example of game theory. The example consists of questioning two “prisoners” separately, and informing them of the following consequences:17

  • If neither prisoner A or prisoner B confesses, both will receive six months in jail;
  • If one prisoner confesses and the other does not confess, the prisoner who confessed will receive ten years in jail while the other goes free; or,
  • If both prisoners confess, each will go to jail for eight years.

Since its origin in 1950, the prisoner’s dilemma has been adapted in research to address issues such as cooperation, altruism, and decision making, among others.18 According to game theory, the “prisoners” face a dilemma in which confessing is the rational strategy to prevent being betrayed and ultimately receiving the maximum sentence. Yet, many people in both experiments and real-life situations end up cooperating.

In fact, most of the research on the prisoner’s dilemma has shown that allowing the prisoners to communicate with one another will significantly increase cooperation.18 To leverage this, a group of American researchers wanted to explore the role that social identity and norms play in cooperation. They sorted 86 undergraduate students into four groups, differing on the other “prisoner” they faced.

In the first group, the potentially cooperative “prisoner” was another person.18 For the other three groups, the participants were faced with three types of computers that varied in the degree of their human-like features. The “most human-like” computer displayed a picture of a person on the screen and communicated with participants through a voiceover. The “human-like” computer communicated with participants through a voiceover but had no picture on the screen, while the “least human-like” computer communicated with participants by displaying text on its screen.

The goal was to assess whether communicating with a computer partner would change participants’ feelings and the norms that influence cooperation choices.18 The researchers found that cooperation with a computer dilemma was half as frequent as that with a person, and that cooperation rates were notably higher when the computer was programmed to resemble the participant. For example, some computers used the participant’s native language. Surprisingly, participants were more likely to break their promises to cooperate with a computer, especially when the computer was more human-like.

These findings support the role of social identity in cooperation: participants might have felt a group identity with human-like computers, but they disliked it for its imperfections and thus took advantage of it.18 This can be reflective of intragroup downgrading of marginal group members (in this case, the perceived inferior computer) when there is competition. Overall, the findings show that communication is important for cooperation in the sense that cooperation depends on perceived group identity. Humans might not be as rational as game theory would expect them to be: if we were truly rational, factors like norms and social identity would not influence our decisions.

Related TDL Content

AI and the Future of Lie Detection

We have explored how some theorists have distinguished between a bluff and a lie. Game theorists agree that bluffing is a form of deception. Lies, too, are a form of deception. What if AI could assist with lie detection? Would this extend to bluffs? Take a look at this article and decide for yourself.

Game Theory Can Explain Why You Should Wear A Mask

We touched on how the prisoner’s dilemma has been adapted to consider a variety of situations, and amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, it has also been used to explain the rational decision of wearing a face mask! If you’re curious about this application, this article offers some tangible insights.

Sources

  1. Friedman, L. (1971). Optimal bluffing strategies in poker. Management Science, 17(12), B764-B771.
  2. Harford, T. (2006, December 14). A beautiful theory.https://www.forbes.com/2006/12/10/business-game-theory-tech-cx_th_games06_1212harford.html?sh=78014e6f5e94
  3. Méro, L. (1998). John von Nuemann’s Game Theory. In Moral Calculations.
  4. Von Neumann, J. (1928). Theorie der Geselleschaftsspiele. Mathematische Annalen, 100, 295-320.
  5. Kuhn, S. (2019, April 2). Prisoner’s Dilemma. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. https://plato.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/encyclopedia/archinfo.cgi?entry=prisoner-dilemma
  6. Osborne, M. K., & Rubinstein, A. (1994). A Course in Game Theory. Cambridge.
  7. Calvert, D. (2015, March 2). To bluff or not to bluff. Kellogg Insight. https://insight.kellogg.northwestern.edu/article/to-bluff-or-not-to-bluff
  8. Poundstone, W. (2021, February 4). John von Neumann. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/biography/John-von-Neumann/Princeton-1930-42
  9. Guidice, R. M., Alder, G. S., & Phelan, S. E. (2009). Competitive bluffing: An examination of a common practice and its relationship with performance. Journal of Business Ethics, 87(4), 535-553.
  10. CSC304H1: Algorithmic game theory and mechanism design. (2021). University of Toronto. https://artsci.calendar.utoronto.ca/course/csc304h1
  11. ECON 212: Introduction to game theory. (n.d.). University of Waterloo. https://my.cel.uwaterloo.ca/p/form/courses/search/course/sub/ECON/cat/212/topic/0
  12. Mathematics 3157A/B: Introduction to game theory. (2021). Western University. https://www.westerncalendar.uwo.ca/Courses.cfm?CourseAcadCalendarID=MAIN_024184_1&SelectedCalendar=Live&ArchiveID=
  13. Experimental approaches to social and strategic decision-making. (2021). Queen’s University. https://www.queensu.ca/psychology/sites/webpublish.queensu.ca.psycwww/files/files/Undergraduate/Course%20Syllabi/2020-2021/Winter/PSYC_398_Winter_2021.pdf
  14. Friedman, M. (1970, September 13). A Friedman doctrine — The social responsibility of business is to increase its profits. New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/1970/09/13/archives/a-friedman-doctrine-the-social-responsibility-of-business-is-to.html
  15. Carr, A. Z. (1968, January). Is business bluffing ethical? Harvard Business Review. https://hbr.org/1968/01/is-business-bluffing-ethical
  16. Kaufmann, L., Rottenburger, J., Carter, C. R., & Schlereth, C. (2017). Bluffs, lies, and consequences: A reconceptualization of bluffing in buyer-supplier negotiations. Journal of Supply Chain Management, 54(2), 49-70.
  17. Lave, L. B. (1962). An empirical approach to the prisoners’ dilemma game. The Quarterly Journal of Economics, 76(3), 424-436.
  18. Kiesler, S., Sproull, L., & Waters, K. (1996). A prisoner’s dilemma experiment on cooperation with people and human-like computers. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 70(1), 47-65.

Read Next